New Discovery

While I have been continueing to merge my mixed upPaf files I often come across interesting connections between my wifes family and my own.  This time however I came across a connection in my own family.  It turns out that members of two branches of my family joined the australian navy and served on the same ship, in different capacities. One was a commissioned officer and the other was a non-commssioned officer. I present  Petty Officer William Reginald Devine Smith

William Reginald Devine Smith  Born on 9th Aug 1916. Joined the navy in 1934. He served on the HMAS Sydney and was promoted from Leading Seaman to Petty officer in July 1941.  He was among the 645 crew who were lost when the HMAS Sydney was sunk by the german cruiser Kormoran off the coast of Western Australia on 20th November 1941.

  (Photo credit :- National Archives of Australia)

Leave a Reply

